Just Great Stuff!
Living Life In 3-D | Discover, Develop, Deploy

Proverbs 14

So, I have a confession to make. I have not been 100% faithful to our reading plan. I know, I know… gasp!

Earlier this week I read ahead to Proverbs 14. Truth be told, I flipped to it while I was supposed to be doing something else. I wanted to prepare myself for the upcoming blog, so I figured that was as good a time as any. My plan was to read it through quickly, to get a sense of it… then reread, focusing on what caught my attention. Strangely enough, only one verse stuck out. This is a long chapter, there is a lot to take in. But on Sunday afternoon, I could only focus on one thing.

“He who oppresses the poor shows contempt for their Maker, but whoever is kind to the needy honors God.” v.31

As I picked up Proverbs 14 again to write this blog, my solitary verse became so clear. In the 4 days since it first jumped out at me, a tragedy in Haiti has illustrated to the world what it means to be truly “poor” and “needy.” I don’t need to tell you that thousands are in complete devastation; trapped, hungry, missing loved ones, struggling to survive.

As I read, and reread, this verse it felt strange, almost as if the author forgot to proofread. “He who oppresses the poor shows contempt for their Maker.” Just doesn’t roll nicely off the tongue. But I realized it’s not a grammatical error. God is saying that He is equally the Maker of both; the rich and poor. He is our Maker and their Maker. And taking care of those He created, honors Him.

There are many ways you can honor God for the people in Haiti.

1. Pray. This answer is not trite. The Bible says that prayer is “powerful and effective” (James 5:16b). Ask God to bless missionaries and aide workers – to give their efforts overwhelming success. Ask God to give supernatural comfort for those in desperate need. Ask God to reveal Himself in a mighty way to the people of Haiti.

2. Give. There are many opportunities to share your stuff. Giving $10 is as easy as texting “HAITI” to 90999 (money will support the Red Cross International Relief and will be charged to your phone bill). To give even more generously, check out Samaritan’s Purse (a Christian organization providing physical and spiritual aid to the people of Haiti).

3. Serve. Honoring God does not necessarily mean jumping a plane to Haiti. Believe it or not, there are many hurting people right here who are desperate for help. Our Spring ministry is reaching out to the poor and oppressed in NOVA by supplying families with basic household items. Grab Your Groceries is helping to feed the hungry living in Prince William County.

There is no shortage of need. Let’s thank God for the many ways He has blessed us, and ask Him for the grace to show His kindness to the needy.

No Responses to “Proverbs 14”

Leave a Reply

