Just Great Stuff!
Living Life In 3-D | Discover, Develop, Deploy

Proverbs 15

“Flatter me, and I may not believe you. Criticize me, and I may not like you. Ignore me, and I may not forgive you. Encourage me, and I will not forget you. Love me and I may be forced to love you.” – William Arthur Ward

Words are important.
This passage reminds me of James 3 in reference to the tongue, ‘Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?”  With our words we have the capability of healing or destroying.  A little bit of discretion before opening my mouth will help me become less of a jerk…I hope!  Jesus, be my filter.

God is in control and involved.
“The eyes of the Lord are everywhere,…”  Knowing this makes me a bit nervous.  I appreciate my privacy!  Now I find out the ‘hiding places’ I thought I had do not really exist.  After the initial shock, I realize this is a good thing and something a loving Father does.  God watches over all His children, both the good and the ‘wicked.’  I don’t interpret this as a ‘Big Brother’ surveillance thing.  That would be creepy!  I view it as the loving observation of a concerned doting Father.

Correction is good?
Much of my day is often spent living in my own reality.  Under my own devices, I can be selfish and a bit lazy.  Correction seems like criticism to me.  The way I handle criticism is avoidance.  I don’t take kindly to the people who criticize me, including those who go by the adjective ‘saved.’  Proverbs remind me that correction is good and healthy.  I‘ve been visiting a chiropractor every two weeks to adjust/correct things which bad habits, football and gravity have made crooked.  It’s to my benefit to have things realigned and my attitude adjusted.  It also seems to be good for the people around me.

Father, it’s me again. Help me to conform my thoughts to Yours.  I invite you into my heart, even the dark places, so that you may correct things which need corrected and redeemed.  Let my words be a reflection of that renewed heart so I may be an encouragement to others.  I desire to offer grace as I have been offered grace.  God, thank You for being available and noticing the details of my life.  Thank You for my parents who do the same and love me unconditionally.  You remind me to smile more and in doing so fill my heart with joy!

Boughner (Gal 6:2)

No Responses to “Proverbs 15”

Leave a Reply

